Skip to content

Unity House Resort, 20 years after

April 15, 2009

About a million years ago, I worked at Unity House Resort in the Poconos. Four magical summers spent on the lake lifeguarding. Sigh. Those were the days. But those days were also 20 years ago, and the resort in question has been closed for those 20 years.  The property was purchased, and the Mountain Laurel Center for the Performing Arts was built. Most of the original resort buildings remain. Went to a few events there. It was very nice.

The property has now been purchased by a developer, and its fate is in the hands of the economy. I went back yesterday and met an old co-worker, and we walked around, reminiscing about the wonderful times spent living and working there. This is the old girl today:

 

The main building at Unity House Resort

The main building at Unity House Resort

 

The Family Bungalows at Unity House Resort

The Family Bungalows at Unity House Resort

The lake at Unity House Resort

The lake at Unity House Resort

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Ari permalink
    July 22, 2009 6:52 am

    Sorry to hear that this place is closed. I worked at the beach sometime summer -81 – 82. Me and my friend Kimmo (both from Finland) were part of international exchange students working at Unity. The others were from Poland, France and former Jugoslavia. It was interesting summer and now I have my bag full of memories.

    Thanks for the pictures !

    Ari

    • Eric permalink
      February 25, 2010 8:45 am

      Actually, I was there several time in the eighties (1984 + ?) also as an international student from France working at the waterfront. I remember a very nice guy from finland called Mikko (I think).
      Great memories…

  2. Gerhard Karner permalink
    February 19, 2010 11:10 am

    My name is Gerhard – and when I was a student – I worked in the restaurant of Unity House as a waiter in 1980. I was a student from Vieanna Austria. I still remember those days.
    Gerhard Karner
    g.k.karner@gmx.at

  3. Donna permalink
    March 10, 2010 10:32 am

    I also worked at UH from 1987-1989ish and was a caretaker there as well. It’s so sad to see how this wonderful resort has decayed and it is such a shame that such beautiful property may potentially be built up into yet another development. Thanks for the beautiful, yet sad, photos.

  4. July 23, 2012 8:17 pm

    After a day at the falls on the ride home my sister wanted to turn down the drive to see what the PAC was. Low and behold my adventurous self noticed the abandoned buildings. I snapped a few pictures then had the hubster take me back on Saturday and we toured the place a little more. Very interesting. It seemed like back in the day it was THE place to go. Having no idea about what we had discovered, once in the main building (which is sooo moldy and gross and nasty with leaks and no ceiling) we found an old brochure and a price sheet from 1989. I was stoked to find out what it was ! I just read a story that pretty much outlined the whole place. So interesting. I have not given the location to anyone as I am afraid the info will get into the wrong hands. There were some old pictures and the like that we could have walked out with but we did not, we left it. I am afraid others will not be so kind to the piece of history. I am sad to say that the deterioration has progressed and the buildings are in very bad shape. I hope to find people who have pics of the place and are interested in sharing their stories about it with me. I felt like I struck gold when we found this place !

  5. December 4, 2012 7:25 pm

    My twin brother and I were camp counselors there in the late 80’s. We also performed our juggling/comedy act in the main theater. Here’s an old photo! http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=415841619356&set=a.415840054356.193133.694819356&type=3&theater

    • Jeffrey Kreitman permalink
      August 18, 2013 8:22 am

      Saw an article today on old pocono resorts and it made me think of Unity House. A quick search brought me to this website.

      I too worked at Unity House during summer of 1988 as a bellhop. We used golf carts to move people and luggage across the huge campus.

      I do remember the juggling twin act. Didn’t you guys light juggling sticks on fire.

      As far as Unity House – I originally was a guest housed there to be bussed over to Shawnee. However, after a couple of weeks decided to work at Unity House and was moved to the employee building for housing.

      It was fun filled great summer – from lazer tag by most of the employees at night and getting in trouble by security to golfing to lazy days at the beach and snack shack to watching shows and movies at the large pavilion. I hope all is well with you. Sad to hear about Unity House as it was a great place.

    • debkm permalink*
      December 4, 2013 2:13 pm

      Hi Nick! I sure do remember you and your brother! Good times, for sure.

  6. L. Brown permalink
    October 30, 2013 12:06 pm

    My family vacationed there in the 60s and 70s. My dad even worked up there one summer. It was great for a kid from Brooklyn to get out of town and see nature. I learned to row a boat on that lake and the only times I ever went fishing were on that lake.

  7. Athena rivera permalink
    November 5, 2013 12:11 am

    I went to Unity House as a child, while I don’t remember everything I remember having such a great time. I still keep in touch with some of the friends I knew from there, but truth be told my mom kept in tough and I as a result. I remember it as very fun, and scary, not sure why we were afraid of the shuttle guy (probably stories of going off alone by our parents). I would love to see more photos if anyone have them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

